GDB days 5-9

Thursday was another rainy day. In the morning, Jory and I extended our route by a block to go into the courthouse to work on stairs. Stairs are something we still need to practice some more. Emily thinks she wasn’t sure I found the stairs with my foot, and she stopped at the top of every one. It took a while to get down all three flights, but she was faster on the last one.
Thursday afternoon was a little dryer, and we did our route again. Go south to forth street, turn east and cross E, turn north and go to fifth, turn east and cross D, C, B, turn south back to forth st, and turn west back across C and D to go to café du cirque. We did this route for the final time Friday morning, and I celebrated by having hot green tea at the café.
Friday afternoon, Emily took us to a path/hiking trail. Jory was excited and air scenting a little. It was bumpy and a little rocky. Jory was unsure at first because Emily said she had never been on such a steep hill before. We took it slowly and she did a good job.
Saturday morning, we went to the mall. I hung out in front of a store while Emily worked with my classmate. We did escalator work. I put Jory’s back booties on, and we got the usual comments of “why does the doggy have shoes?” There is a train that goes through Northgate mall, so Jory was a good girl and traffic checked it both times.
We got to the escalator in Macy’s, and I worked with Jory on targeting the handrail instead of the middle of the metal plate. Jory is a fast learner. I’ve been using hand targeting to teach her new things: find the sink, elevator button, door handle, back up, lie down long ways, and sit between my knees and down. She is always excited to see my right hand, so she had fun enthusiastically learning the railing. She was a little slow exiting escalators at first. I put more enthusiasm into my voice, and she happily worked off the last escalator.
We also stopped at See’s candies. I’ve never had their chocolate before. I had a sample of a cream truffle, and it was delicious. I bought a chocolate bar and some sour stars, and Jory did well sitting at the counter while I paid.
In the afternoon, we went to Sausalito. It wasn’t raining there!!! It is a nice area. On Jory’s side of the path was the bay, and on my side of the path was a street. She liked looking at the waves for a few seconds and got distracted by someone reeling in a live fish. There were also several dogs on this walk both on and off leash. Jory was distracted at first, but after a few times, she walked right passed them and got a halt and kibble for being such a good girl. I waited for my classmate at a coffee shop and had an éclair and water.
Yesterday was nice; finally a day off!!! It was of course windy and raining again. On the way to breakfast, we were coming from carpet on to the tile before the hotel restaurant, and I fell. My hip was sore from that. I was sitting on the floor for a minute, and Jory kept nudging me with her nose. After that, she has been very cautious in approaching the tile even though the fall wasn’t her fault. The rest of the day, I groomed Jory, played kong with her, and mostly slept. Our internet has been down since Saturday, so I didn’t really have anything else to do yesterday.
Today was awesome! We went into San Francisco! I’ve never been to California before, so I was excited to see a new city. We hung out at a coffee shop again, and I had some more green tea and chatted with a classmate while waiting for my turn. We had many four-way stop signs and lighted intersections. I have mild hearing loss and auditory processing disorder, so I was glad to be in this environment. Noise is hard for me sometimes because I have trouble telling from which direction sounds were coming. It gave me many chances to practice keeping my line while listening to traffic and trusting Jory to go straight even when I’m not too sure. I feel again too, not Jory’s fault this time either. I was walking and my shoestring got caught on some metal pipe sticking out of the sidewalk. Now, my hip is definitely sore, and I think I will be moving a little slower tomorrow.
Jory did an excellent job targeting all up curbs. She also showed caution around outside tables, strollers, and running children. We crossed several lighted intersections before taking a bus and walking back to the coffee shop.
We came back to San Rafael this afternoon. We first went to Petco where I picked up a tuffy ring and a collapsible silicon bowl to keep in my backpack. Jory got distracted by a little dog and wanted to sniff some dog food, but I was pleasantly surprised she didn’t try to jump at toys or pull too hard.
After that, she got to have some off-leash time in the grass paddock at GDB. She did lab scoots and ran some circles. She had more fun with the clicker because we practiced off-leash recalls. She also enjoyed playing on the agility teeter-totter, ramps, and running the tunnel.
Finally, we did country work this afternoon. It was a quiet road. Sometimes we wandered out too far to the right because I forgot to keep telling her to halt and check for left. We have sidewalkless where I live, but all the traffic is coming from a lighted intersection towards us. Since it is so busy, I have no problem staying left and keeping my dog left. Jory got much better by the end in anticipating staying left, and I got better at checking.
Tomorrow, we are doing the traffic route, more sidewalkless, going to campus to meet with admissions, and having the night route. Jory is doing an amazing job for me. I love having her and working her, and she is an excellent successor after Dee!

3 thoughts on “GDB days 5-9

  1. Sharon Wachsler

    Martha, thank you for doing these long, detailed posts. I am having such a good time following your adventures, and it’s so interesting to learn what your experience is in training with Jory. It sounds like you are a great team already! I’m very sorry to hear about the falls. I hope your pain isn’t too bad. It’s fun to hear how you’re incorporating targeting, too, and all the details about the different obstacles and positioning for the guiding.

    Reply
  2. Karyn

    WOW! Your entries make me a bit homesick. I remember SF quite well. I hope you are able to enjoy yourself in their little shops before you head home.
    I love following your journey through training. Jory is so fun and enegetic. I especially love how excited she is with hand targeting which gives you the ability to teach her so many great things to help you.
    Quieter streets can be difficult. Sometimes I imagine there must be as many as 5-6 changes of lights before I can tell it is our turn to go here in town. As a result I really seek out the areas of zebra crossings I dont think SF has a lot of those though unfortunately and the point of all this (training) is to learn the hard things huh?
    I am just so so happy for you with Jory. Now quit falling and worrying her OK vbg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

